2024 Conference Program

Speaker Program Day 1

Thursday 5th September 2024

8.30 am


Kristyn Adamczyk, Co-Chair, Organising Committee

8.35 am

Opening Address

John Greenfield, Newmont – State of Play of Mineral Exploration in the Tasmanides

The Big Picture

Moderator: Richard Blewett

09.00 am Ross Cayley - Southern Tasmanides
09.30 am Gideon Rosenbaum - Northern Tasmanides
10.00 am Morning Tea


Chair: Kenny Bush

10.30 am Bowdens Epithermal Project - Tom Klein, Bowdens Silver
10.55 am Spur Project - Peter Duerden, Waratah Minerals
11.20 am Genesis of the Bottletree and Cockie Creek porphyry Cu-Au-Mo deposits in the Greenvale Terrane of northern Queensland: Products of the Macquarie Arc? - Stephen Rowins, Superior Resources
11.45 pm Mt Cannindah Project: Porphyry-style Cu-Au-Mo - Simon Beams, Cannindah Resources
12:10 pm Pursuit of IOCG systems in Western Tasmania – Sean Westbrook, CopperCorp Resources
12:35 pm Lunch


Chair: Kaylene Camuti

1.35 pm Mt Chalmers VHMS Cu-Au - Peter Caristo, Q Mines,
2.00 pm Peel Project, NSW – Sebastian Hind, Peel Mining
2.25 pm Great Cobar Copper – Scott Munro, Aurelia Resources
2.50 pm Federation Deposit – Todd McGilvray, Aurelia
03.15 pm Afternoon Tea

Magmatic cont'd

Chair: Mark Arundell

3.40 pm Myall Project: The value of persistence under cover in the East Lachlan - Steven Oxenburgh, Magmatic Resources
4.05 pm TBA
4.30 pm The Dittmer Project – A Cretaceous Intrusive-Related Gold-Copper System - David AIzzeddin and Juli Hugenholtz, Ballymore Resources,
4.55pm End of Day One

Speaker Program Day 2

Friday 6th September 2024

The Big Picture

Chair: Melinda Deacon, Co-Chair Organising Committee

9.00 am Delamerian Project – GA/MinExCRC
09.30 am Geochemical Presentation - Scott Halley
10.00 am Morning Tea

Magmatic ctd

Chair: Phil Blevin

10.25 am Ravenswood Gold - Building Queensland's Biggest Gold Mine - Steve Harper, Ravenswood Gold
10.50 am Bauloora Epithermal Project – Tom Wall, Legacy Minerals
11.15 am An update on the geology and recent research at the Cowal gold deposit - TBA, Evolution
11.40 pm Underexplored Tasmania – Northeast Tassies’ Golden Corridor– Michael Fenwick, Flynn Gold
12:05 pm Boda – Kaiser – David Meates, Alkane Resources
12:30 pm Lunch


Chair: Doug Menzies

1.30 pm Hill End – Roger Jackson, Vertex
1.55 pm The Haunted Stream Goldfields - Ian Neilson, First Au
2.20 pm Weethalle - Richard Blewett, Weethalle Gold
2.45 pm Sunday Creek–Michael Hudson, Southern Cross
03.10 pm Afternoon Tea

Critical Minerals

Chair: Yamei Wang

3.35 pm The Kennedy Project: A new rare earth element ionic absorption clay deposit in North Queensland – Chris Torrey, Devex Resources Ltd
4.00 pm Narraburra – Jeneta Owens, Godolphin
4.25 pm Lithium Project– Owen Greenberger and Dean Turnbull, Dart Mining
4.50 pm Prize giving and wrap up
5.10pm Conference Concludes